Al Badie Palace
United Arab Emirates


uploaded: 24 March 2014 / last modified: 26 March 2014

The country

The emirate is known as the Emirate of Sharjah. The country is being reigned by the Al Qasimi dynasty.


The current sovereign is Sheikh Sultan III bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Emir of Sharjah. He was born in Sharjah on 6 July 1939.

He is the son of Sheikh Mohammed bin Saqr Al Qasimi, Emir of Sharjah (1910-) and his wife Sheikha Maryam bint Ghanem bin Salim Al Shamsi (ca. 1915-2010).

Sheikh Sultan succeeded his brother Sheikh Khalid bin Mohammed Al Qasimi as Emir after his murder on 25 January 1972.

The Emir is a Muslim.

Marriage and descendants

Sheikh Sultan is married to two women. His first wife was Sheikha Moza bint Salim bin Mohammed bin Manee Al Falasi. His second wife is Sheikha Jawaher bint Mohammed Al Qasimi.

By his first wife Sheikh Sultan had one son, Sheikh Mohammed (1974-1999), and one daughter, Sheikha Azza (born 1973).

By his second wife Sheikh Sultan has one son, Sheikh Khalid (born 1980/81), and three daughters, Sheikha Bodour, Sheikha Noor (born 1979) and Sheikha Hoor (born 1980).

Sheikha Bodour (born 1978) is married to Sheikh Sultan bin Ahmed Al Qasimi and has issue.

Heir to the throne

The heir to the throne is Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed bin Sultan Al Qasimi, Crown Prince of Sharjah. He is a brother of the present Emir's second wife. He is the Crown Prince since the death of the Emir's son in 1999.

The Crown Prince is married to Sheikha Azza bint Saud Al Qasimi.

I am not quite sure whether they have children, but they might have a son called Salem.


Sharjah is a hereditary constitutional monarchy.


The emir is His Highness Sheikh .. (first name) bin .. (name of his father) Al Qasimi, Emir of Sharjah. The heir to the throne is His Highness Sheikh .. (first name) bin .. (name of his father) Al Qasimi, Crown Prince of Sharjah.


The area of the emirate of Sharjah has known human settlement for over 5000 years. The Al Qasimi family took control of Sharjah in the early 18th century. In 1820 a treaty with Great Britain was sind. Sharjah became a protectorate. On 2 December 1971 Sharjah joined the United Arab Emirates.

The Emirs of Sharjah

Hamza bin Quresi bin Rahma Al Qasimi 1727-1777
Saqr bin Rashid Al Qasimi 1777-1803
Sultan bin Saqr Al Qasimi 1803-1840, 1840-1866
Saqr bin Sultan Al Qasimi 1840
Khalid bin Sultan Al Qasimi 1866-1868
Salim bin Sultan Al Qasimi 1868-1883
Ibrahim bin Sultan Al Qasimi 1869-1871
Saqr bin Khalid Al Qasimi 1883-1914
Khalid bin Ahmad Al Qasimi 1914-1924
Sultan II bin Saqr Al Qasimi 1924-1951
Muhammad bin Saqr Al Qasimi 1951
Saqr bin Sultan Al Qasimi 1951-1965
Khalid bin Muhammad Al Qasimi (1931-murdered 1972) 1965-1972
Saqr bin Muhammad Al Qasimi 1972
Sultan III bin Mohammad Al Qasimi (1939-) 1972-1987, 1987-
Abd al-Aziz bin Mohammad Al Qasimi six days in June 1987

1998- Netty Royal
This site is best viewed with Mozilla Firefox 21.0 or higher and hosted by Brinkman Informatie Technologie.