Last modified: 1 January 2019

The country

The state is known as Al-Mamlaka al-Magribiyya in its national language. In English this means the Kingdom of Morocco. The country is reigned by the Alaouite dynasty.

Until the 8th century modern Morocco was an area with several states and kingdoms. At the end of the 8th century Idris I ibn Abdullah conquered large parts of northern Morocco. Under Mohammed, early 9th century, the kingdom was devided amongst eight brothers. The realm was united in the early 10th century and ruled successively by the Idrisid dynasty, the Fatimid dynasty, the Almoravid dynasty, the Almohade dynasty, the Marinid dynasty, the Wattasid dynasty and Saadi dynasty until 1659. In 1666 the Alaouite dynasty gained control. On March 30th, 1912 Morocco became a protectorate of France. Spain assumed protecting power over the northern and southern Saharan zones later that year. Alaouite Sultan Mohammed V was exiled in 1953 and replaced by his relative Mohammed Ben Aarafa. Mohammed V was allowed to return in 1955. Finally Morocco became independent again in 1956. Mohammed V became Sultan of Morocco, and since 1957 called himself king.


The current sovereign is Mohammed VI, King of Morocco. He was born at Rabat, Morocco, on 21 August 1963.

He is the son of King Hassan II of Morocco (1929-1999) and his wife Lalla Latifa Hammou


Mohammed VI succeeded his father after his death on 23 July 1999.

The inauguration took place at the Throne Room of the Royal Palace in Rabat, Morocco, on 30 July 1999.

Other details

The King’s motto is Allah, al Watan, al Malik which means God, Nation, King.

The King is a Muslim.

Marriage and descendants

King Mohammed VI is married to Salma Bennani (born 1978) since 2002, but it seems they either got divorced or split up in 2017. She is known as Princess Lalla Salma.

Their children:

  • Crown Prince Moulay El Hassan (born 2003)
  • Princess Lalla Khadija (born 2007)

Heir to the throne

The heir to the throne is Crown Prince Moulay El Hassan. He was born on 8 May 2003.

Postal address

Palais Royal


Morocco is a democratic, social and constitutional monarchy. The King, Amir Al-Muminin (Commander of the Faithful) is the supreme representative of the nation and the symbol of its unity. The Morrocan crown is hereditary and handed over from father to son, in direct male line and by order of primogeniture. A king can however, during his lifetime, designate a successor among his sons apart from the eldest one. If there are no descendants left in direct male line, the right of succession to the throne will be invested to the closest male in the collateral consanguinity. The king is considered a minor until he turns sixteen. Until the king’s sixteenth birthday a Regency Council shal assume the powers, and will serve as an adisory board until the king turns twenty. The Regency Council shall be presided over by the First President of the Supreme Court. It shall further include the President of the House of Representatives, the President of the House of Counsellors, the Chairman of the Rabat and Salé Ulama Council (of scholars), and ten dignitaries appointed with the King’s own accord.


The sovereign is His Majesty, King of Morocco. In break with custom Salma Bennani, upon her marriage to King Mohammed VI, was granted an official title and became known as Her Royal Highness Princess Lalla Salma. The King’s sons, grandsons and other male descendants in male line are Prince Moulay … of Morocco. The sons are styled His Royal Highness, while the others are styled His Highness. The King’s daughters, granddaughters and other female descendants in male line are Princess Lalla … of Morocco. The daughters are styled Her Royal Highness, while the others are styled Her Highness. Other male members of the family are Prince Moulay …, and other female members of the family are Princess Lalla … More distant male members of the Aloui family are Moulay … bin … al-Alaoui, while distant femal members are Lalla … bint … al-Aloui.

Royal residences

The official residence of the king is the Palais Royal (Dar al Makhzen) at Rabat. His private residence however is situated at Dar Essalam, outside Rabat.

The Kings of Morocco

Mohammed V (1909-1961)1907-1953 and 1955/56-1961
Hassan II (1929-1999)1961-1999
Mohammed VI (1963- )1999-